Topkapi is a more colorful storytelling than most of the world’s museums. Libidinous sultans, ambitious palaces, beautiful caricatures and planetary eunuchs lived and worked here between the 15th and 19th centuries, when the Ottoman Empire was the palace. The rich palaces of the palace, the jewel-filled treasury and the visits to the spreading Harem offer a fascinating glimpse into their lives.
conquest of Fatah in 1453 and lived there until his death in 1481. The next sultans lived in this rarity when they were moved to the imposing European-style palaces they built up to the 19th century. Bosphorus.
Before entering the palace Imperial Gate (Bab-i Hümayun), examine the ornamental façade just outside the cobblestone pavement. It was built in 1728 by the highly acclaimed Sultan of Laleli, Sultan III. This is Ahk’s rococo style fountain.
The main ticket office is in the First Court just before the door to the Second Court.
Go to the First Court, known as the Janissary Court of the Imperial Gate or the Parade Walking Court. On the left side there is a Byzantine church of Hagia Sophia called Hagia Irini.
The Middle Gate (Ortakapı or Bab-üs Selam) was taken to the second court of the palace used to operate the empire. During the Ottoman period, only the sultan and the sultan’s mother were allowed to pass through the Central Gate on horseback. Everyone, including faithful, had to leave.
The Second Court has a nice park-like place. Topkapi is a series of pavilions, kitchens, barracks, auditoriums, kiosks and sleep zones built around a central enclosure, as opposed to typical European palaces with large gardens with large gardens.
The large Palace Kitchen on the right (east) was restored after many years and reopened. They kept a small portion of the Chinese celadon porcelain collection valued by the sultans for Topkapi’s beauties, and were also worthy of color change when they were touched with poisonous food.
On the left (western) side of the Second Court, there is a magnificent Chamber of the Imperial Council (Dîvân-ı Hümâyûn). The council came together to discuss the state affairs here, and the Sultan was sometimes infuriated by the high gold grill on the wall. The room on the right displays the clocks in the palace collection.
The Chamber of the Imperial Council is the Outer Treasure, which displays the north, an impressive collection of Ottoman and European weapons and armor.
The entrance to the Harem is under the Justice Tower on the western side of the Second Court. If you decide to visit – and we strongly recommend – you need to buy a special ticket. Some of the areas mentioned here may not be open during your visit, as the rooms have been changed for restoration or stability when the visitor route in the Harem is closed.
Harem was a place where the sultan would resign, as he would have popular rhetoric. In a more flashy reality, these were the neighborhoods of the empire’s parents, and the tradition, obligation and ceremony of every detail of the Harem life was ruled. The word ‘harem’ literally means ‘forbidden’ or ‘special’.
In the Harem, the sultans supported about 300 concubines, although the numbers are generally lower. After entering the harem, the girls would be educated in Islam and in Turkish culture and language, as well as make-up, dress, dressing, music, reading, writing, embroidery and dance arts. Then they entered the soldiers, especially the soldiers, the carouses and children of the Sultan, and then the ruling pavilion, and eventually – if they were attractive and talented – a meritocracy that awaited them against the pavilion.
The Sultan had four legitimate husbands who took the name of a woman in Islamic law. If a spouse had given birth to a son, he was called the Sultans of Confession; If she wants a girl, she’s a woman.
The ruling of the Harem was largely the sovereign sultan who, having his name in great measure, controlled them through his black brunette slave servants. Sadness was a direct influence on orders, the influence on the sultan, his wives and carriers, and on the affairs of the state.
The oldest of the 300 room rooms in the Harem was built during Murat III period (1574-95); the movements of the previous sultans were in the Old Palace, which is now destroyed, near the present Beyazıt Square.
The harem complex is six floors, but only one of them can be visited. This is approached with the Carrier Door. Near the bridge is the Zülülü Baltacılar Corps Yurdu, carefully restored with the installation of magnificent 16th and 17th century İznik tiles. There is a Cupboard in the door. Beyond that, there is a room where the Harem has its mouths. It is adorned with fine Kütahya tiles dating from the 17th century.
Beyond this room, the narrow courtyards of the Black Ahlattık are also decorated with Kütahya tiles. Behind the marble colonnade on the left is the Persian Dormitory. In the early days, white eunuch was used, then black eunuchs sent as gifts by the Egyptian Ottoman governor were taken under control. They lived around 200 here, guarding the gates and waiting for the Harem women.
At the far end of the courtyard is a guard room with two giant ostrich mirrors as well as the Main Gate to the Harem. From here, the Rabbis Corridor leads to the Chapel of the Rabbis and to the Wives of the Sultan. It is surrounded by bathrooms, laundry fountain, laundry, dormitories and private apartments.
Opposite the Aving Conbines Corridor, Sultan Ahmet’s Kiosk decorated with a tiled paddle and the Valide Sultan’s apartments in the center of the Harem are followed. From these fancy rooms, the Valide Sultan was kept under surveillance and checked the big “family”. In particular, the Hall of the Valide Sultan presents the pastoral landscapes of Istanbul with beautiful 19th-century wall paintings.
The passage of Valide Sultan Avlus is a magnificent reception hall with a large fireplace on the covered front garden of Kütahya and Iznik tiles dating from the 17th century. The princes, the ruling sultans and senior carousels waited for the audience with the sultan before entering the handsome Imperial Hall. III. The hall, which was built during the Murat period, was redecorated in Baroque style by order of Osman III (r 1754-57).
One of the most magnificent rooms in the palace III. Murat Privy Chamber is close by. It is believed that almost all the decoration, dating from 1578, is original and Sinan’s work. The restored three-tiered marble fountain step was designed to make it difficult to give a voice and listen to the speaker’s speeches. The soft toilet seating areas are the joints from the 18th century.
III. Continue to Ahmed’s Privy Room and take a look at the neighboring dining room built in 1705. The second is covered with wooden panels decorated with polka dots of flowers and fruit.
III. Murat’s Privy Room, from the two most beautiful rooms in the Harem – Twin Pavilion / Crown Premier Apartments. These two rooms date back to about 1600; Note the painted canvas dome in the first room and the thin Iznik tile panes above the fireplace. The stained glass also attracts attention.
In the past, these rooms are the Favorite Barracks. On the edge of the courtyard (really a terrace) you will see a large empty pool. The tiny dark rooms that form the cages (cages) where the sisters or sons of the courtyard-looking sultan are imprisoned are tiny windows.
From here you can follow the passage known as the Golden Route and go to the court of the Third Court or go north to the corridor and enter the Fourth Court by the Circumcision Chamber.
The Third Court is entered at the Felicity Gate. The sultan’s private area was commissioned and guarded with white eunuchs. There is a Audience Chamber built in the 16th century but renovated in the 18th century. Important officials and foreign ambassadors were sent to this small mansion to carry out the government’s high affairs. The sultan, sitting on a large divan, examined the gifts and presentations of the soldiers as they passed through the door on the left.
Behind the Audience Room is the beautiful Ahmet III Library, built in 1719.
At the eastern end of the Third Court is the Expeditionary Force House, which has a rich collection of imperial dresses, caftans and uniforms working in silver and gold. At the same time, there is a collection of fascinating amulet shirts believed to protect the wearer from all kinds of enemies and misfortunes.
On the other side of the Third Court there are Rooms of Sacred Assurance. These rooms, decorated with Iznik tiles, contain many remains of the Prophet. While the sultans lived here, on the 15th day of the month of Ramadan, the chambers opened only once a year to respect the memory of the Prophet’s imperial families.
There is a Privy Chamber Dormitory with 36 sultan portraits next to the Sacred Enclosure Chambers. The emphasis is on Constantine Kapidagli III. It is a magnificent example of Selim’s (1789) Supreme Ceremony.
The Topkapi Treasure, located at the eastern end of the Third Court, has an incredible collection of gold, silver, rubies, emeralds, jade stone, pearls and elbows or gold ornaments. The building was built during the reign of Sultan Mehmet the Conqueror in 1460 and was originally used as reception rooms. When we last visited, an important restoration was closed.
When reopened, it was adorned with sword and pearl covered with the jewel of Sultan Suleiman the Magnificent, and pay attention to the extraordinary throne of Ahmet (Arife Tahtı) and designed by Sedefhar Mehmet Ağa, the architect of Sedefhar Mehmet Ağa. Sultan Ahmet Mosque. Do not miss the famous Topkapi Dagger of the Treasure that was the target of the criminal robbery of Jules Dassin’s Topkapi in 1964. It has a tremendous three emeralds on its handle and a clock placed in the scroll. It is worth investigating, when entering the board in 1648 IV. The Grocer (Spoonmaker) Diamond, a 86 degree rock with a tear drop surrounded by dozens of small stones worn for the first time by Mehmet.
Pleasure mansions occupy the Fourth Court in the palace. These include the Mecidiye Köşk built by Abdul Mecit (1839-61) according to 19th century European models. Underneath, the Konyalı restaurant, offering spectacular views from its terrace, goes down with the quality of its food and its price. The next steps from Mecidiye Kiosk are the Chief Physician Pavilion. Interestingly, the chief physician is always one of the Jewish subjects of the Sultan. You will find this terasta, the Mustafa Pasha Pavilion, sometimes called the Sofa Pavilion. III. In Ahmet’s era, Tulip Garden outside the büfen is filled with the latest varieties of flowers.
The marble terrace is a picturesque place with a decorative swimming pool, three pavilions and a small building built in 1640 by Ibrahim I (‘Crazy’) with naked iftariye camii and up stairs at the end of the Tulip Nest. Break the glory of Ramadan
IV. Murat, rebuilding the city of Yerevan from Iran (now in Armenia) built the Revan Mansion in 1636. In 1639, the Baghdad Mansion, one of the last examples of classical palace architecture, was built to commemorate his victory in this city. Watch out for the top Iznik tiles, painted pan and pearl teaspoon and turtle inlay. A small Circumcision Room was used for the ritual that confessed Muslim children to manhood. The outer walls of the room, built by Ibrahim I in 1640, are adorned with beautiful tile panels.